Wonderful Merciful Savior

Growing in Gratitude

I am as guilty as the next person when it come to wanting what I don’t have.  “I would be so much happier if only I had __________”.  When I think about all of the comforts that I do have and the things that I am thankful for, my day is so much better!  I like to focus on the goodness of God first thing in the morning before I even get out of bed, before challenges and problems grab control of my day.

What is gratitude?  Gratitude, thankfulness, gratefulness, or appreciation is a feeling, emotion or attitude in acknowledgment of a benefit that one has received or will receive.  To express this gratitude we need to let what is in our hearts come out!  We need to intentionally thank God and others for the blessings that come our way.  How easy it is to have a heart of gratitude when things are going good, but we need to hold on to this gratitude even when things are going not so good.  When we respond to God’s grace and goodness every day we discover a deep and profound joy in our lives, that could only come from the love of Jesus Christ.

When we choose gratitude, it changes the way we start our day, spend our day, and ultimately the way we look back on our day.  By thanking God and others, it helps us to realize that all of our blessings are undeserved.  When you look at yourself, do you have a grateful heart?  Are you consistently expressing that gratitude toward others?  Or are you a whiner?  I have to admit that sometimes I am the whiner…..But I am striving diligently to cultivate a life of gratitude, thankfulness and praise.  And in return the blessings of Gods grace have given me great JOY!

Strive in you life today, not to be the whiner.  But instead to sow the seed of gratitude and reap the blessings of Joy!

2 Comments

  1. Deborah O'Neill

    How did you know I needed to read that just now!?!? 😉 Good words! I’m gonna go count my blessings now :)! Thanks for sharing!

    • wonderfulmercifulsavior

      Thank you so much for sharing! I have been fighting with myself whether I should do this or not. I am glad that I didn’t listen to my fears and doubts. “I’m a little pencil in the hand of a writing God who is sending a love letter to the world”-Mother Teresa

Leave a Reply

