Wonderful Merciful Savior

The Love of God

Wouldn’t you love to hear God say that to you?  “This is my son (daughter), whom I love, with you I am well pleased”. (Mark 9:7).  If God ever said one phrase to me, ever, I would want it to be this!  Isn’t that was we strive for every day, the love and approval of someone that we care about the very most.

Growing up I always wanted my Dad’s approval, and when I didn’t get it (because I didn’t deserve it), I was miserable.  Love is what drives us in this life, and is what we all hunger for.  As I have grown older and when I ask Jesus into my heart, I discovered a new kind of love.  The true and never ending love of Jesus Christ.  The love that God has for us is a consistent never ending  love.  He will never stop loving us because we mess up or do something without his approval.  The love of this world is a sad copy of true love.  We loved because he first loved us, but our love is not the same as his.  The love of the world is always ending.  There is another divorce or someone giving up on someone everyday, and it is clearly not the true love that Jesus was an example of when he was on earth.

When I think of true love it is hard not to think about the women at the well.  I guess it is because she is so much like me.  I could see myself saying the exact same things if I was in her position.  Jesus tells her to give him a drink and she just can’t keep her mouth shut, “why is it that you being a Jew ask me a Samaritan to give you a drink”.  Then he explains about living water and how she may thirst no more, and she doesn’t understand, so he explains it again.  So far it sounds exactly like me.  Then finally she gets it!  “Sir, give me this water, so that I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming here to draw water”.  OK so I thought she got it.  Then he tells her to go get her husband, and she says she doesn’t have one.  Then he tells her all about herself and brings to light the reality of her dark world.  What love he shows her, a Jew would not have even talked to a Samaritan women in those days especially in the light of all he knows about her.  But he not only talked to her, but told her about the gospel and what she needed to do to get the living water that he knew she so desperately needed.

I think that it is natural for women to be drawn to anything that talks about love, we like romantic movies and books that make us cry.  So shouldn’t we be easily drawn to the true love that God offers each and every one of us.  “The debt of love remains with us permanently and never leaves us.  This is a debt which we pay every day and forever owe.”  The only reason that we can pay that debt is that “the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us” (Romans 5:5).  Isn’t it a wonderful thought that all of this love can be ours because God Himself, through the Holy Spirit is teaching us to love as we submit to him.  (1 Thessalonians 4:9).

It is my prayer that we all reach out today and love others, not with the love of the world.  But with the love of God, that surpasses all of our understanding.  “Be completely humble, and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in LOVE.”  (Ephesians 4:2)

2 Comments

  1. Hi..Beautiful post…I had similar thoughts in mind recently when I was thinking one day of …I wonder what the Lord ‘thinks’ of me. I know that He loves me…never a doubt but sometimes I think …I wonder if He likes who I am and what I’m doing here on this place called Earth…I too would love to hear the phrase you entitled your blog…”This is my daughter with Who I am well pleased”…..Diane

  2. Wonderful Merciful Savior

    Thank you!….I know that God is unhappy with sin. But I think He has such an infinite knowledge of who we are an why we are that way, that He is pleased when we follow Him. I am sure that He is pleased with your beautiful faith filled life, your blog is a wonderful beacon of light! Thank you for following wonderful merciful savior! I look forward to reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

