Wonderful Merciful Savior

Look up

ImageThere is something about baby chicks running around their mother after they hatch that intrigues me.  They are such cute little balls of fluff, running this way and that so fast that it amazes me she never steps on them.  God tuned those tiny little chicks to know exactly what to do to survive.  Isn’t life amazing!

When I tuck the baby chicks and their momma into bed at night they go into a separate pen from the other chickens, and the pen that I have is an old dog run with a gate that they have to step up, to get in.  The bottom is chicken wire so the chicks can see the hen right through the wire and they pace back and forth and try to get through the wire.  When all they really have to do is look up, then they just have to jump over the wire.  There are always a few that just can’t get this.  They continue to run back and forth along the wire, even after I show them the way.

Sometimes I wonder if I am the same.  I spend my life in such a hurry to get here and there, I know that I want to be closer to God and I think I can get to Him my way.  So I run back and forth looking down and trying to get though, when all I really need to do is just look up and the path is clear.  Do you ever feel this way?  Sometimes when I take over and try to live life my own way, I end up feeling just like this chick running back and forth with my head on the ground.  All I have to do is look up, and He is there with open arms waiting for me.

If you are running with your head down today, look up He is waiting for you.

1 Comment

  1. What a wonderful analogy..been there…thankfully not in that place now….Diane

Leave a Reply

