Wonderful Merciful Savior

I love how on t…

I love how on the movie The Backup Plan he explains being a father as being terrible, terrible, terrible and then there is a small amazing moment that makes it all worth it, and then terrible, terrible, terrible and then that small amazing moment.  Of course this statement is meant purely for comic purposes, but it wouldn’t be so funny if there wasn’t some truth to it.  Sometimes when I get stuck in a rut that is how I feel.

It is almost like that small amazing moment is the only thing keeping me going.

Usually it is when I am feeling intense pain deep inside that I decide to go my own way.  Sometimes I just want to wallow in the pain and feel sorry for myself, but that isn’t what God wants us to do.

He doesn’t want us to desperately run around and scramble to put our broken lives back together.

He wants us to rest in Him. 

I can be made new by resting in Him, resting in His plan for my life, resting in the knowledge that He works all things together for the good of those that love Him.

Just resting in Him.

A lot of times I have problems resting and being still.  There are too many things circling around in my head, to many things that have gone undone.

When I need help resting I ask the only one that can give me the rest that I need.   

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

Leave a Reply

