Wonderful Merciful Savior

Thank You JESUS!

Image

Did you know that the bible says that by every idle word you will have spoken; you will have to give an account on Judgment Day?  If ever the thought crossed my mind that I would get into heaven by my works the Lord has shown to me that it just isn’t possible.  Jesus said that if I lied, had stolen anything, or even look at someone with lust, I had committed adultery in my heart, and that there was nothing I could do to wash away my sins.  Because of all of things I have done, if God judges me by the Ten Commandments on Judgment Day, I would end up guilty, and go to hell.

Let’s look at the Ten Commandments for a minute.

#9 says that we shouldn’t lie.  I have lied.  Sure I can try to smooth it over and say that they were just little, and mostly when I was a teenager, but the facts are there; I will have to give an account for every lie I have told.  Wow!  Hell here I come.

#8 says that I should not steal.  Opps!

#7 says that you should not commit adultery.  But my husband and I lived together before we were married.  Surely that doesn’t count, right?  We are married NOW.

We have only made it through three of the Ten Commandments and I have broken all three.

Have I always put God first?  Never worshipped anything idols?  No blasphemy?  Kept the Sabbath?  Honored my parents?

Wait………….I have kept one I have never killed anyone.  But wait Jesus said “You have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not murder, and whoever murders will be in danger of the judgment.’ But I say to you that whoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment. And whoever says to his brother, ‘Raca!’ shall be in danger of the council. But whoever says, ‘You fool!’ shall be in danger of hell fire. (Matthew 5:21-23).

Are you on your knees yet, head in hands weeping over the fact that neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind, nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners, shall inherit the kingdom of God.”(1 Corinthians 6:9-10).

I have been there.  That is what I was.  But I was washed, I was sanctified and I was justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God (1 Corinthians 6: 11).

It was like I had been judged for everything I have ever done that was wrong, and the law stated that it was all very wrong.  And then someone that I didn’t even know just appeared and paid all of my debt for me.  No prison, No lake of eternal fire, no damnation.  Just Jesus.  All I had to do was give my life over to Him.  Turn my back on all of the sin, repent and let Him have my life.

Thank You JESUS!!

1 Comment

  1. It’s a wonderful realization isn’t it?…….Diane

Leave a Reply

