Wonderful Merciful Savior

S.O.A.P on Luke…..Repentance

S-“Every valley shall be filled in, every mountain and hill made low.  The crooked roads shall become straight, the rough ways smooth.  And all people will see God’s salvation.” (Luke 3:5-6)Image

O-John was a humble man who submitted to God.  Not concerned with his own popularity, he knew that his ministry was to point people to Jesus Christ.  I find it interesting in this day and age of people so in need of repentance, that the message in many churches today is one of love and salvation and the sin and repentance part is kind of left out.  John the Baptist went into all the country around the Jordan, preaching the baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.  It doesn’t surprise me that this scripture would stand out, my Pastor preached on that very subject yesterday, and our life group class we are studying revival, which is incomplete without….repentance, and my Beth Moore study is on guess what….pleasing God, and what pleases God more than repentance.  The first thing that John the Baptist taught was repentance, the first thing Jesus taught was repentance, and the word repentance is used 40 times in the Old Testament, meaning to change your mind, heart or disposition.  The scriptures are full of the message of repentance, but I think that it is the hardest thing to do.  Why are “I have sinned” the three hardest words to say?  I could go on and on because frankly this has been drilled into my head for a few weeks now.  I am pretty sure that God wants me to teach a spirit of repentance.  J

A-Like John, I need to point people to Jesus Christ.  The way to do this is by convincing them that they need Him, and the only way to do that is to have the Holy Spirit convict them of their sin.  “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Rom 3:23) and then lead them to repentance.  Only then will they understand the true love of “God, who made Jesus who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God” (2 Cor 5:21).

P-Father in heaven, I thank you for the joy, pleasure, gratification, favor, and acceptance that you have put into my heart.  All of the things that I was constantly longing for and trying to fill before I found You.  I will never understand the absolutely free expression of loving kindness that You pour out to me, I am so thankful!  I will never be the same THANK YOU!!!     Father prepare people and send them my way because I am ready to tell them about You, I desire to tell everyone about You!!  In Jesus holy name, Amen!

  

Leave a Reply

