Wonderful Merciful Savior

Clear Out The Clutter

Image

S:  “What should we do then?”  The crowd asked.  John answered, “Anyone who has two shirts should share with the one who has none, and anyone who has food should do the same.

O:  John is still stressing the imminence of the coming judgment.  This is not a time to hoard one’s surplus goods.

A:  When you think of personal preparedness, what do you think of?  Personally, I think of what I need to have stock piled in case of an emergency.  I have extra clothes, in addition to my families’ five full closets.  This leads to a lot of clutter and I hate clutter.  Having all of these piles of stuff around drives me absolutely crazy.  I want things to be clean and organized, but with so much excess it is a hard thing to do.  John’s message is as relevant today as it was then….God doesn’t want us to hoard thin we think we might need someday, this is an indication that we do not believe that God is sufficient.  When we think of personal preparedness we shouldn’t think about being physically prepared for the emergency, but instead being spiritual prepared to meet our maker.  “Sow righteousness for yourselves and reap faithful love; break up your unplowed ground.  It is time to seek the Lord until He comes and sends righteousness on you like the rain” (Hosea 10:12).  What things do you have that clutters your time with God?  It is time to throw it out!!!

P:    Dear Lord, I seek Your face today and ask You to restore in me a clean heart. Help me to rid of all the clutter in my heart and my life which is keeping me from my time with You, and prevents others from seeing You working in and through me. Infuse me with a desire to maintain a uncluttered life.  You are sufficient Father, You are all I need, and You alone can satisfy. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

